Share on Google+:

Not everybody tolerates wheat

Wheat is a staple food. It’s an excellent source of dietary fibre, carbohydrates, calcium and vitamins, and indispensable to modern-day cuisine. Unfortunately, however, some people don’t tolerate wheat, barley, rye and other cereals. Just one bite of a piece of toast can give them stomach cramps, nausea, diarrhoea and bloating.

Gluten intolerance can occur at any age and the number of sufferers is on the increase. Today, there is far greater public awareness for gluten intolerance. Food retailers have responded to this growing awareness by introducing a wide range of gluten-free products. There’s no need for consumers to buy gluten free products at health food stores or by mail order today, and there’s always a comprehensive selection in stock at supermarkets.

Enjoying soy sauce despite gluten intolerance

Kikkoman Gluten-Free Tamari Soy Sauce comes with the same rich, savoury taste and flavour you’ve come to expect from Kikkoman Soy Sauce. It is certified gluten-free and naturally brewed from four ingredients — water, soybeans, salt and spirit vinegar. Furthermore it is halal-certified as alcohol is substituted with vinegar.

It’s getting far easier for people with coeliac disease to get hold of gluten-free products. But gluten intolerance can still pose a challenge to restaurant or canteen operators. There are lots of gluten-free foods, but what about seasoning? Chefs who like to season with soy sauce will be happy to hear about our Gluten-Free Tamari Soy Sauce.